Review Agenda Item
Meeting Date: 3/8/2023 - 6:00 PM
Category: Public Comment
Type: Info
Subject: 8.1 (Original 10.1) Review and Potential Approval of Recognition of the Mt. Diablo Unified School District (MDUSD) 2023-2024 Teacher of the Year Nominees and Finalists
LCAP (Local Control Accountability Plan) Goal:
Goal 1:
All students will receive a high quality education in a safe and welcoming environment with equitable and high expectations, access to technology, and instruction in the California State Standards that prepare them for college and career.
File Attachment:
Teacher of the Year 2023-2024 Nonimees and Finalists.pdf
Summary: The Mt. Diablo Teacher of the Year Selection Committee sought nominations of outstanding educators from transitional kindergarten through grade 12 and adult education to be represented as the MDUSD Teacher of the Year. Fifty teachers were nominated to move ahead in the nomination process and offered the opportunity to submit a brief questionnaire. The questionnaires were scored by members of the MDUSD Teacher of the Year Selection Committee and the top scoring individuals were interviewed. Two teachers have been selected to represent MDUSD in the County Teacher of the Year competition. Joseph Alvarico, Ygnacio Valley High School and Danya Townsend, Olympic Continuation High School. Five Finalists: Joseph Alvarico, Miran Chung, Lisa Dippo, Veronica Leno Garcia, and Danya Townsend
Funding: No Fiscal Impact
Fiscal Impact No Fiscal Impact
Recommendation: This item is being presented as information only.
Recommended By:
Signed By:
Louise Neville - Administrative Assistant
Signed By:
Jennifer Sachs - Chief, Educational Services
Signed By:
Dr. Adam Clark - Superintendent