

MT. DIABLO UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT GOVERNING BOARD RESOLUTION 24/25-7

In Recognition of Fentanyl Prevention and Awareness Day

WHEREAS we are supporting the goals and ideals of Senate Resolution 323 on Fentanyl Prevention and Awareness Day, August 21, 2024; and

WHEREAS families in the United States, Contra Costa County and even in Mt. Diablo Unified School District have been affected by the use of illicit fentanyl use we are:

- (1) acknowledging the devastation caused by the use of illicit fentanyl and other dangerous drugs; and
- (2) continuing awareness about the dangers of the use of illicit fentanyl to prevent a public health crisis, self-harm, addiction, and death; and

WHEREAS fentanyl is a highly addictive synthetic opioid that is 100 times more potent than morphine; and

WHEREAS the fentanyl crisis in the United States is a serious public safety threat; and

WHEREAS the illicit fentanyl poisoning rate in 2022 was the highest in the history of the United States, and fentanyl poisoning was the number one cause of death among citizens of the United States aged 18 to 45; and

WHEREAS synthetic opioids, primarily fentanyl and the analogues of fentanyl, are devastating communities and families at an unprecedented rate, claiming 2 /3 of the more than 107,000 lives lost to drug overdoses in 2021; and

WHEREAS individuals increasingly use pills or other drugs without knowing those substances contain fentanyl; and

WHEREAS, in 2021, the DEA issued the first public safety alert by the agency in more than 6 years to raise awareness of a significant nationwide surge in counterfeit pills; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Mt. Diablo Unified School District does hereby declare August 21, 2024 Fentanyl Prevention and Awareness Day; and we will continue to promote education and awareness to try to prevent a drug overdose because, "One pill can kill!"

Resources:

Facing Fentanyl Now

Senate Resolution 323

Contra Costa County Meds Coalition

Erin McFerrin, Board President	Linda Mayo, Board Vice President
Cherise Khaund, Board Member	Debra Mason, Board Member
Keisha Nzewi, Board Member	Dr. Adam Clark, Superintendent